Home > Thoughts > Always welcome a good read

Always welcome a good read

An interest in writing inspires an interest in reading and vice versa. This week I’m reading The Zahir: A Novel of Obsession (P.S.) by Paulo Coelho as I’ve started reading his series of books at the moment, some are so in-depth it’s hard to comprehend if you are not in the right set of mind but this one is treating me alright. Reading is a great joy for me either as a hobby, self-reflection tool, idea simulator or time killer. Below is a list of books I have read in 2010 which may I hope may inspire you:

  • House Rules: A Novel by Jodi Picoult – Usually I like to follow authors, if they have one book I liked I will read all their existing books or as and when they come out. I’m a dedicated follower of Jodi Picoult, buying all her newest releases. This one was purchased in Bangkok whilst on a hens weekend trip for nearly half of what you have to pay in HK. Happy reader!
  • Stolen by Lesley Pearse – I had extra cash left at the Singapore airport, so I treated myself to a new book. Descriptive and details writing of characters and scenes, but not the type of thrill you would find from a crime thriller novel, it focuses more on telling the story of the girl.
  • No More Silence by David Whelan – I am always intrigued by books on the subjects of abuse, violence and neglect on children, especially proud of the author when it is a biography. This book doesn’t dwell too much on what happened during the abuse but how his life is shaped and the struggles he has to go through because of it.
  • The Swan Thieves: A Novel by Elizabeth Kostova – On my way to Paris on a business trip and because this novel is set in Paris I thought it would be a nice fit in setting the scene for my two weeks’ stay
  • Tuesdays with Morrie: An Old Man, a Young Man, and Life’s Greatest Lesson by Mitch Albom – I didn’t like The Five People You Meet in Heaven but every author deserves a second chance. I liked the set out and topics of each lesson learnt through his sessions with his dying mentor.
  • A Room Swept White by Sophie Hannah – The story failed to offer any climax but gave away the answer by providing hints along the way, I still liked Hurting Distance best. I bought this at a hostel in Chengdu, China prior to my departure for Tibet, and the young chinese lady behind the counter asked me what the book title meant. I admired her curiosity and eagerness to learn more English, but I didn’t do a very good job of it as I tried to explain it to her literally.
  • The Virgin’s Lover (Boleyn) by Philippa Gregory – After watching the movie The Other Boleyn Girl, I read the book which led me to an interest in the English Courts together with all the love affairs, deceiving plans, power struggles staged around that.
  • The White Queen: A Novel (The Cousins’ War) by Philippa Gregory
  • The Boleyn Inheritance by Philippa Gregory
  • Veronika Decides to Die: A Novel of Redemption by Paulo Coelho – This one is a good and easy read with a mini twist in the end.
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

