Home > Relationships, Thoughts > Who will cry at my funeral

Who will cry at my funeral

There are what I call “Time and Location” friends, where you happen to become friends at a particular point in time of your life due to time and location conveniences. For example, you befriend Tom because you happen to be studying the same subject this semester. Or your colleague who you hang out with, or friends you make when you have moved to a new place and the likes.

Then there are what I call “Eat and Drink” friends whom you wouldn’t mind to spend your meal time with and hold some kind of interesting conversation whilst you enjoy a meal.

Also in this day and age, there are what you call “Digital” friends. Those people you have on your Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin and what not. You may have 10,000 followers on your Twitter, or 1800 friends on your Facebook, so you know what I’m talking about.

Finally there are what I call Real Friends whom you share the joys and pains of life with, someone you would call or email or message when you need someone to be there for you. I have a very special and unique relationship with a friend where you can read in my Long Distance relationship post. I think the best way to measure your friends circle is not by your Linkedin connection profile but by who will come to your funeral. That is different to weddings, because people always like to share in people’s joys. Trouble is you always have to try to limit your wedding invite list since you or your family is paying for it, or you may only want to invite ‘close friends and family’ since it’s a small wedding.

But those who will come to your funeral is a completely different matter. So have a think about it, when you are spending 15 to 18 hours a day with your online circle. Who can you imagine being there at your funeral? Those are the ones you should be spending quality time with. Most importantly, who will cry at your funeral? Those are the people who care.

***Photography thanks to BGOR’s photography

  1. March 5, 2011 at 7:05 am

    Very interesting post! You definitely got me thinking!

    • March 5, 2011 at 7:28 am

      Thanks for dropping by, John! Just thoughts I come up with when I go into my cave..haha

  2. March 5, 2011 at 7:15 am

    Other than the whole being dead thing, it would be cool to go to your own funeral. Or maybe depressing depending on the turnout.

    • March 5, 2011 at 7:21 am

      for sure I agree! I definitely think I want to have a living funeral if I get the chance and lucky enough to have one…maybe when you reach that point in life, we will see things differently, who knows! yet to find out…haha

      • March 5, 2011 at 7:27 am

        I always wanted a very random/unrealistic viking funeral. haha

        Nothing cooler than having your dead body burned on a boat out at sea.

  3. March 5, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    whoowww…. you made me thinking…yeah im wondeting who will go and cry to my funeral and miss me if im gone…

  4. March 5, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    whoowww…. you made me thinking…yeah im wondering who will go and cry to my funeral and miss me if im gone…

  1. February 17, 2012 at 12:21 am

Leave a Reply

