Home > Thoughts, Travel > Do you enjoy travelling alone?

Do you enjoy travelling alone?

Sometimes I go on holidays alone. For example, I spent Christmas and New Years in Tokyo when I was working for the Australian airline Qantas hence the 90% off airfares, and no one else wanted to pay premium price to travel during peak season. I also spend two weeks in Osaka doing nothing but shopping the whole time, walking up to 12 hours a day. There is just so much to see and buy in Japan, I love their food, culture and everything about it – can’t get enough.

Sometimes my friends had passport issues as they arrived at the airport and I end up going on holiday on my own for the weekend. I have roamed the streets of Lisbon, Berlin and Florence on my own. So I got to practice taking shots of myself everywhere, although it did seem a bit sad and you get people who offer to take my photo for me.

I think the hardest part in travelling alone is eating, because usually there is so much food I want to try out and order but there is only one of me. Or something tastes really good and I wanna tell someone to taste it or share it with someone straight away, but lack the company.

I find that travelling solo in Asia seems a little bit less lonesome, because I can do more stuff like pampering or shopping. But in Europe shops close a lot earlier and you can’t enjoy much of then night life when you are on your own.

But I do enjoy the ability to take my own pace and do things at in own timing. Because I really enjoy people watching, and sometimes I just sit in the square for an hour or so and just watch people go about their lives. There was this one time in Japan, there was a bunch of youngsters just listening to music and enjoying themselves freely. Or I would watch locals and tourists in the course of their day whilst I sit outdoors of a cafe. It’s so interesting what you can see and absorb from observing people, not just ticking off the tourist sightseeing spots in the guidebook.

What about you? Do you enjoy travelling alone? What do you enjoy most about it?

***Photo by bgorsphotography

  1. chronictraveler
    April 1, 2011 at 12:21 am

    I travel alone all the time – mostly because my husband is a homebody, although a very supportive homebody. I find I prefer travelling alone – I can chart my own course, go where I want and stay for as long or little as I like. If I want to sit all day at a cafe while people-watching and journalling, I can. Or change my itinerary on a whim. I also find I meet more locals because I’m longing for social interaction and I’ll start chatting with people around me. This has led to hours-long fascinating conversations, private insider tours, and friends all over the world. I’m a naturally shy person – travelling with people is a security blanket for me. Going it alone means I’m shedding that and opening myself up to endless possibilities.

    • April 1, 2011 at 5:52 pm

      Oh really? I don’t meet many locals, usually just other travelers in the same hostel where we are joining the same day tours or whatever. But meeting locals is great, then you really absorb their culture…the best way is to talk to their people huh!

  2. April 1, 2011 at 1:58 am

    I’m traveling in Europe alone right now and it’s not bad! Like you, I enjoy being able to people-watch when I’m going solo. I’m also taking advantage of the opportunity to meet new people while i’m traveling. It’s been great fun. Hope you continue to enjoy your solo-journey. =)

    • April 1, 2011 at 5:52 pm

      Awesome! Enjoy your Euro trip, it has so much to offer…stay safe!

  1. April 1, 2011 at 9:11 pm

Leave a Reply

