Home > Thoughts, Travel > How long can you live without internect access?

How long can you live without internect access?

I don’t like to be away from home for anything more than two weeks. It’s not necessary that I get homesick as such, I just miss the routine and comfort of staying in one place. So I like to have a station at least, for example, London then venture out from here across Europe and each trip lasting no longer than two weeks. I really can’t do those gap year trips where you travel South America for 18 months etc. So two weeks is about the max time I can live without any access to internet connections at all.

I don’t own iAnything or smartphones so I don’t check, or twit, or check in or upload stuff on the go and I think that is a good thing. You should enjoy where you are without taking the cream off the cake and forgetting to be in the midst of what you are doing. I sometimes laugh at those who are so busy taking videos of what’s happening right in front of them, for example, in a concert or show, whilst they miss out on the joy of being there. So I quite enjoy travelling without any connection to the rest of the world via the web.

What about you? How long can you survive without accessing the internet?

***Photo by bgorsphotography

  1. christmas
    April 2, 2011 at 11:36 am

    Cant agree more. The best pictures already being captured in my “personal” brain recorder while Im in travel or in concert.

    • April 3, 2011 at 4:59 pm

      yeah I wish my brain has an internally installed camcorder and camera! hehe maybe in 100 years…

  2. April 2, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    I hear you, we are so dependent of internet for almost everything. I like to turn off the electronics at a certain hour, like now and resort to reading the old fashioned way with books, or writing. I prefer to read paper instead of LCD screens, it bothers my eyes after awhile. Happy Journey to you.

    • April 3, 2011 at 5:00 pm

      Yeah totally agree, I still enjoy reading physical books for sure…

  3. April 5, 2011 at 6:18 am

    These days, about 5 minutes! 🙂 Thank you for subscribing to my blog a few days ago. I enjoyed your photos and reading about your travel adventures … I’m envious. I wish you safe travels and a world full of lovely adventures.

    • April 5, 2011 at 6:11 pm

      Yeah! 5 mins is a record for some haha Thanks for dropping by…

  1. April 2, 2011 at 9:56 pm

Leave a Reply

