Home > Relationships, Thoughts > The Perfect Mistress

The Perfect Mistress

You know how at the Oscars they have Best Supporting Actor and Actress etc. Well I have always wanted to win the BSGFOTY award ie Best Supporting Girl Friend Of The Year. But I never came close to being nominated. In fact I became the Best Self Loving Girl Friend Of the Year. Truth is, I make a perfect mistress but not wife. You can have all the fun and laughs with me, you can take me to the dinner parties or a musical performance. I can hold intellectual conversation or tell you all about my travels but when it comes to responsibilities I’m not up for it. Sure I come up with lots of excuses  but reality is I’m not yet ready. However, the million dollar question is will I ever be ready?

One time a friend said to me it takes a lot of courage to enter into marriage. I had no idea what she was on about, but now I get a glimpse of it. I also forget that BOTH people have to say the vow, and I am not the sole receiver of the promise. I always imagine when the day comes I will write my own vows, but also worry that I might get too nervous and forget it all. But I hate the idea of having to repeat after someone when you are saying the most important words in your life time thus far. So here it is, this is my vow to remind myself each day of my privilege, honour and duty as a wife until the day I say it out loud.

I, Michelle, take you to be my husband, my partner in life and my one true love. I offer you my solemn vow to be your faithful partner in sickness and in health, in good times and in bad, and in joy as well as in sorrow. I give you my hand, my heart, and my love, from this day forward for as long as we both shall live.

***Photo by bgorsphotography


  1. No comments yet.
  1. April 17, 2011 at 5:07 pm
  2. May 17, 2012 at 12:15 am
  3. June 21, 2012 at 12:49 am
  4. July 7, 2012 at 12:10 am

Leave a Reply

