Home > Travel > 5 tips to travel safe

5 tips to travel safe

During all my travels, I have been very lucky and never had anything being stolen but I have heard so many stories to know it happens quite often and there are so many different creative ways to do it. Sometimes it is the person’s own fault, other times they are just so quick and experienced you couldn’t have picked it up. But of course it’s better to be safe than sorry, so here are some useful tips for you:

1. If you are catching on an overnight train or coach, make sure your key items are by your side or within arm’s reach because you are must vulnerable whilst you are asleep. I don’t carry money pouches, but what I do is link my arm over my bag if I want to sleep or put them in the inside pocket of my jacket so I can feel their presence. I know two girls who put all her cash in her small bag at the foot of her bed on an overnight train in Spain and woke up having lost all of it.

2. Don’t flash cash. You don’t have to hide your cash inside your bra or under your shoes but just make sure you are not flashing it around when you need to pay for something. It attracts unwanted attention and trouble. For example, if you are buying a postcard for 1 euro, don’t dig around your wallet whilst you are deciding if you want to use your 20 euro note or 50 euro note or pay with unfamiliar coins. Pay extra attention if you are going to Rome, Paris, Barcelona and the likes or parts of China also.

3. I don’t recommend small backpacks. Even if you need one, carry a side bag for your precious belongings. One of my friend got his backpack sliced open by a knife, so locks and double locks are meaningless.

4. Group travellers: You might want to have a pool of money so the one person pays each time you dine out together. Because if you are fussing over what the bill comes to and 8 people all fork out their wallets, it’s easy to get distracted. A girl I know lost her whole handbag where you hang it on the back of her chair at a restaurant in Covent Garden, London.

5. Finally, a lot of things are just common sense really. But if you really feel the need to travel with flashy laptops, phones, wallets, cameras, handbags and the lot, my only recommendation would be to buy heavily covered insurance for your items.

  1. April 19, 2011 at 4:13 am

    Hey Michelle! Awesome blog, I wonder if you might allow me to translate some of your posts into spanish… it would be awesome to publish your ideas in several languages ¿what do you think?

    • April 19, 2011 at 7:20 am

      Heya, as long as you do a reference or link back to my original post I wouldn’t mind it…

  2. April 19, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    Of course I will do a reference AND a link to your post, thanks Michelle

  1. April 20, 2011 at 12:26 am

Leave a Reply

