Home > Thoughts > What would it be like to be another nationality?

What would it be like to be another nationality?

Although being born Chinese I have spent two-thirds of my life living in English-speaking countries. Growing up and attending school I never felt I was any different, I felt like I was very much part of their culture and society. I see myself as one of them and call myself Australian.

But since seeing the world, I think I have noticed that us as ‘Chinese immigrants,’ and as well as second generation like ABCs or BBCs etc, we are quite a unique pack. I’m sure being ABC and BBC has its challenges in terms of identity and positioning too but for me I’m only just starting to feel like I’m living in someone else’s country. Well there is absolutely nothing wrong with that, especially living in such an international city like London now. I just thought it was very interesting…

  1. Mark Shu
    April 29, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    I totally agree with you, for the past 15 years I was living in Canada and am proud to say “I am Canadian”!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

