Home > Thoughts > Something close to my heart

Something close to my heart

Besides keeping up this blog, I’m actually a chartered accountant by day. In my spare time I work with children aged 3-6, which is something very close to my heart as I feel it is my destiny and gift. I don’t have any professional training in this area and I don’t have any children of my own but I feel time is the most precious gift I can offer at the moment. Hence I have been doing volunteer work for over the last 8 years in different capacities such as teaching Sunday School or working in hospitals/hospices and charities across Australia, HK and UK.

In the last couple of months, I have been spending every Saturday afternoon with a lovely autistic boy to help him with more social interaction skills, further speech development and other life skills that comes easily to some. Together with his mum, we are using ideas out of the Son Rise Program from the Autistic Treatment Centre of America.

Since I’m doing the British 10k run on 10 July 2011 in London, I thought instead of raising money for a particular organisation I should raise money for my dear little friend, who is turning 4 end of July. Maybe we can get him a special birthday present or more funding for his special needs in the future! Least of all, seeing a smile on his face will make it all worthwhile and I’m hoping you can take part in it.

To give, you can simply get in contact with me and I can provide you my bank account details in Australia,UK or HK so you can donate in the currency convenient for you. Of course, you can give it to me in person as well. My first goal is to raise £200 but I’m sure with loving hearts and the power of social media we can exceed this target easily.

Even if you don’t wish to give, please feel free to have a chat with me as I love to share some of my stories since most of the time I feel I have gained much more from my time with him than he from me.

Thank you!

***Photo by bgorsphotography

  1. June 29, 2011 at 7:38 am

    Yay I have 95 pounds so far…come on people!!

  1. February 17, 2012 at 12:21 am
  2. June 1, 2012 at 12:45 am

Leave a Reply

