Home > Thoughts > Just how far will men go?!?!

Just how far will men go?!?!

OK so we are familiar with terms like metro sexual men and highly fashionable men etc. This year I have seen it all. Going to a local Vietnamese restaurant around my flat one evening, I saw this Chinese guy quite young in a black batman type dress, black high heel boots and black leggings. But men with leggings is nothing uncommon now as they have them on run way and several times in HK as well.

There was a whole TV program in HK about how men are going to Bobbi Brown to buy make up and going for plastic surgery to enhance their nose and reduce the wrinkles on their forehead etc. Actually I don’t mind it at all with men wearing make up because it enhances your features and hides the blemish. Totally acceptable! Also if they want to boost their self-confidence and self-esteem by doing plastic surgery, I don’t have anything against it either.

The ultimate thing was when I saw a man sitting inside a nail parlour getting a manicure last week. That was it, it was the final straw. Men don’t need perfectly shaped nails and removal of dead skin cells around your cuticle. Honestly I don’t know what he was getting done but I really can’t get over it. Call me ageist but I’m not talking youngish fashionista who flaps their hand when they talk. I’m talking a full-grown middle-aged man, can’t remember if he was dressed in a suit because it was the business district after all.

The question is just how far will men go to boost their appearances in more finite detail than women without them turning into a lady boy with tits? If you have seen The Hangover Part II, you will have a very visual image in your head right about now.

***Photo by bgorsphotography

  1. Kristin Brænne
    June 18, 2011 at 1:12 am

    Have a great weekend!

  2. Justin
    June 26, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    Hi Michelle! Long time no see! Hope you’re well.

    I am guilty of getting a manicure three times, and I have to say I am a bit of a fan. Even when I don’t get a pro to do it I have to keep them trimmed anyway because I do a combat martial art, might as well give them a good shape 🙂 (but I don’t use emery board or push back my cuticles)

    First time I got someone else to do it for me was for about two bucks in Bali. Even then quite a few women commented positively!

    Next time was about a year ago because I recieved a voucher from my hairdresser.

    Third time was last week. $40 investment in first impresrions; next day I started a new job.

    There is no shortage of guys getting manicures over here, and even quite a few “men’s esthetician.”

    Now that summer is almost apon us I may just go and get a bit of unwanted hair removed…!

  1. June 18, 2011 at 2:10 pm
  2. June 2, 2012 at 9:16 am

Leave a Reply

