Home > Travel > My least favourite country: Italy

My least favourite country: Italy

From Rome with its ruins to fashionable Milan, the famous water city Venice to tilted tower of Pisa next to Florence, I have been utterly and totally disappointed with Italy. It has been overrated in movies and novels, which paints a picture of romantic vibe with deep culture and tranquillity. But as I stepped into its cities I am drowned by people and its noises. Streets are unclean. Public transport is not efficient. People are not friendly to visitors. Food is not anymore authentic than what you can get from your local Italian restaurant.

Although I must admit I have not been to the country side or islands of Italy so I may be speaking out of ignorance. However, I have visited the five main cities on no less than 10 occasions and when every time it fails me, it doesn’t give me much motivation to visit the other parts of the country.

***Photo by bgorsphotography

  1. July 29, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    I think you must have visited another dimension in Italy!! I love it!! Once you search a little further from the more touristy locations, there is mighty fine authentic italian food and although there are problems with its rubbish, I think the fact that Italians still live alongside such impressive ancient artifacts outweighs most of these elements.
    I have heard negative opinions before and I do agree that visually some of its areas are grey in comparison to those more tidy cities, but the history is so interesting…But then I write also as ignorant, because Im not very well travelled! =)

    • July 29, 2011 at 11:39 pm

      Agreed! as with all major cities, it becomes too commercial and loses it’s taste…

  2. July 29, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    Great post. I have been in Capri and it is beautiful. To Capri You can get easily from Sorrento and to Vesuvius and to Pompeii.

    Happy travel. Maybe You some day travel to Finland and get unforgettable experiences.

    • July 29, 2011 at 11:39 pm

      Oh yes, Finland is on my list for sure. I heard Santa Claus town is really interesting…

  3. mewithmycamera
    July 29, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    wow, sorry you had a bad experience

    • August 3, 2011 at 6:48 pm

      It wasn’t really any bad experiences like getting my wallet and passport stolen or anything like that. It’s just that it is far from what has been portrayed hence I get disappointed…

  4. August 8, 2011 at 3:25 am

    Nice to get an alternative perspective, as opposed to the cliche! Just discovering your blog now. Lots of good stuff…….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

