Home > Thoughts > Speak their language

Speak their language

When I visit any country, I learn at a bare minimum ‘hello’ and ‘thank you’ in their local language. It can give me a flavour of their culture. But more importantly, it goes a long way if you try to make an effort to break the ice especially when you are trying to ask for directions or something.

A friend once told me about the 5 different love languages being words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of service and physical touch. I’m trying to learn and speak another person’s language so that what I’m trying to express can be received. It’s like every Saturday when I spend two hours one on one with my autistic little friend, most of the time I join him in whatever he is doing with the aim to make him comfortable in his world then he can reach out when he is ready.

I’m learning to appreciate and show appreciation with less complaining and judging. Life is short and it never offers ‘happily ever after’s. There are no money back guarantees or return policies. There aren’t any types of contracts / prenups that can stipulate terms and conditions with small fine print for you to read or check. Tsunamis or earthquakes may hit and whether you can be a survivor depends on your attitude and willingness to fight. When you have people around you to share your ups and downs, that is most precious. I want to simply be true and kind to those around me because that is the best way I’m telling them that I treasure them.

***Photo by bgorsphotography

  1. February 17, 2012 at 1:38 am

    I love languages! I agree that learning a few words of another language can open you up to a new culture and even help us learn how to express ourselves better in our own primary language. Thanks for the post!

    • February 17, 2012 at 5:30 am

      Yes languages are so lovely and insightful. So amazing!

  2. February 17, 2012 at 1:50 am

    You’re definitely right… we’re always so busy thinking of our lives and problems that we forget to care about the others…

    • February 17, 2012 at 5:29 am

      I hope we can remind ourselves regularly. Thanks for reading!

  3. February 18, 2012 at 1:46 am

    Definitely! I am the same way, I am absolutely fascinated by languages and their variations around the world. I see so many of my fellow Americans not even try and learn a word of the local language while traveling, or even worse making fun of a foreigner in the US who cannot speak English perfectly. Not only is it well-documented that English is the hardest Western language to learn, but their ignorance just furthers the stereotype that all Americans are ignorant.

    • February 20, 2012 at 10:49 pm

      really, didn’t realise English was a tough language to learn at all. Saying that I speak 3 languages fluently! 🙂

  1. May 26, 2012 at 12:33 am

Leave a Reply

