Home > About Me, Relationships, Thoughts > The Experiment

The Experiment

It was rush hour at a metro station in Washington DC called L’Enfant Plaza, hundreds of people were speeding off to work in the morning. A guy put his violin case down and started playing with Johann Sebastian Bach’s Partita No. 2 in D Minor which was known as one of the hardest violin piece ever written. 63 people walked past before a man turned his head for a split second noticing some guy was playing the violin. It took 6 minutes before the first person stopped to listen and in the end 7 people did during the 45 min performance. A total of 1,097 people walked by and he collected $32.17.

Joshua Bell. A child prodigy. An award winning violinist. His violin alone costs $3.5 million. He sold out a Boston concert hall at $150 per ticket and is said to be worth $1,000 per minute every time he plays. Yet that morning, he collected $32.17. This was an experiment conducted by the Washington Post.

Ever since childhood it has been drilled into my head that I should protect myself especially when it comes to relationships, so I naturally developed a self defense mechanism. Hence throughout my dating career I always choose men who are more interested and attracted to me than vice versa. However, recently I would say that I have fallen into a trap, one I can not get myself out of. I, me, shockingly actually like someone and hell it makes me incredibly uncomfortable. In fact, I get Princess Wannabe Syndrome. It is a condition where if he is 5 minutes late when meeting me at his own accord, I get so upset you would have thought he killed my cat. If he ever makes contact with another human being on any one of his electronic devices in my presence, I feel like I have been dumped into a river of neglect. If his life and everything that he does in his world does not evolve around me, then I must not be important at all so I should just marry the next man I see. So I decided to conduct an experiment with myself as the subject.

We have heard it all that love is all about giving more than receiving, going that extra mile even when there is no reward because it is too easy to love someone who loves you back. Honestly, I am not that honourable. I just want to see what it means to put the other person’s best interest in the equation. In order for me to get over my insecurities of jealousy, obsessively possessive personality and phobia of abandonment, I must try to take this leap of faith which I have never ever done before in my entire life. Otherwise I am never able to truly love. So here I am, throwing myself into the deep end.

I jump!

***Photo by bgorsphotography

  1. May 17, 2012 at 1:16 am

    Stumbled across this – that’s a very disturbing experiment, but probably true no matter where it might be conducted. Everyone has defenses, because no one wants to be disappointed again. Coldness starts from one instance of hurt. The challenge is to realize that what we think of as love, is really similar to addiction. Most people want someone not for that person’s benefit, but for their own good feelings. We panic when those feelings are threatened. But it’s healthy for the other person to have friends, interests, a life outside of us.

    Unfortunately, this realization comes late in life. I wish it weren’t so. It would save a lot of heartache.

    • May 24, 2012 at 2:08 am

      Thanks for ur comment. I believe this experiment will help my personal growth so it is worth the risk. We all learn our own way!

  1. July 7, 2012 at 12:10 am
  2. July 13, 2012 at 12:48 am
  3. August 7, 2012 at 12:12 am

Leave a Reply

