Home > Thoughts > Natural beauty is an oxymoron

Natural beauty is an oxymoron

In this day and age where going for a cosmetic surgery, medical facial, vein removal procedures or botox is like going for a haircut, natural beauty will soon be in extinction. I’m not even talking about those in the industry or on magazine covers, because we all know the power of media brain washes us to makes us feel like we don’t measure up. All the perfect skin, gorgeous complexion, ideal bodied portraits of people on TV we can push aside but even if men are going for manicure what is this world coming to? Should beauty pageant contests start having real vs artificial ratio on girls? Should mothers start buying nose job vouchers for their teenage daughters as their birthday or Christmas present?

Unfortunately, as much as we want to deny it, our world operates on appearances. Chinese people always says there are no ugly women just lazy women. I am the first to put my hand up to say I’m lazy on grooming sometimes, especially when I’m travelling. I was an unattractive pimple faced chubby girl in my prime age but I promised myself I’m going to be a hell of a hot 40-year-old women. At the moment I’m doing about 8 hours of exercise per week. It’s hard work but it also gives me the sense of achievement that I do not get elsewhere and also creates an endorphin addiction. I just feel sorry for those who get addicted to procedures done on them instead of working on it themselves. Because the more that’s done, the more that needs to be done. The more you gain your self-esteem from it, the more lowly you will feel without it.

Personally, I link weight and appearance management to success and personal achievement. Do you ever see a 350lb CEO or president??? NO! So if you want to look and feel good, work on it instead of being worked on.

***Photo by journeyexplorer

Special thanks my two male models on our Californian trip

  1. June 2, 2012 at 9:18 am

    I love freckles. Freckles are sexy.

  2. June 2, 2012 at 10:17 am

    Men still love “real” women better. 😉

  1. August 21, 2012 at 11:12 pm

Leave a Reply

