Home > Relationships, Thoughts > The boyfriend that my friends like

The boyfriend that my friends like

Some people spend their whole lives trying to please others and seek their approval – our boss, our family and friends. That is exactly what I have been doing. The reason that I’m in this profession is because it makes my parents proud. We all have the need to get other’s approval but I took it one step further. I even look for a guy who my friends will like too.

– Tall
– Handsome
– Smart
– Funny
– Successful
– Showers me with attention
and the list goes on and on.

It was just the shell, I responded to what they seemingly have to offer. But it has proven to be shallow. It lacks the understanding that I crave from a partner. The non ending conversations that you would rather lose sleep for. The heated topical debates because it is ok to have different opinions. The desire to put their needs before yours. The concern because you care so much it hurts.

So I threw away my checklist and now I’m ready to really get to know the person as they are without all the superficial glam.
To look to the core, where I can find the most precious thing in the world – kindess.

***Photo by journeyexplorer

path

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

